File:1902 - Eighth and Hamilton- Looking West.jpg
| Uploaded by | Connor7617 |
|---|---|
| Upload date | 2014-12-26T14:44:12Z |
| MIME type | image/jpeg |
| Dimensions | 1000 × 576 px |
| File size | 158.2 KB |
Summary
| Description |
English: Colorized photo postcard of Hamilton Street taken in 1902. The five-story yellow building at 8th (801 Building) was known as the Haas Building. N.A. Haas & Son Shoe Store occupied the first and second floors, while the rest was commercial office space. Haas was a former partner of the Farr family who left in 1900 to start his own shoe business. The store would close in 1912 when Haas sold the property and left retailing. Over the decades, the building housed numerous businesses and remains in use today.
On the northeast corner is the original Farr Shoe building, built in the 1860s. It was replaced a five-story building in 1907. The street's tall utility poles, which carried electric and telephone lines, were removed by Mayor Reichenbach in 1915, when the utility lines were buried under the street. |
| Date | |
| Source | Anonymous |
| Author | Anonymous Postcard Photographer |
Licensing
The author of this work is anonymous and this work was made available to the public more than 50 years ago. According to the Berne convention Art. 7, and the laws of many countries, this work is in the public domain.
Note: This template does not apply to works from countries that extended the Berne Convention or that did not sign it. In particular, this includes the European Union, the United States, India, and Russia. Please use {{PD-anon-70-EU}}, {{PD-US}}, {{PD-India}}, {{PD-Russia-1996}}, etc. in such cases and check Commons:Anonymous works every time, carefully! |

